Regular Meeting May 18, 2020

The Board of Directors of the Louisa-Muscatine CSD met in regular session on Monday, May 18, 2020 beginning at 6:00 p.m. Board members present included Scott Wilson, Eric Schlutz, Barbara Thompson, Bryce Hoben and Carol Whittaker. Also present was Supt. Mike Van Sickle. Amy Lantiqua, Aimee Wedeking, Chris Parkhurst and Eric Gabe were present via Zoom.

Call to Order/Approval of the Agenda

President Wilson called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. Thompson moved and Hoben seconded to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried 5-0.

Community Forum

No one was present to speak at community forum.

Consent Agenda

Schlutz moved and Whittaker seconded to approve the consent agenda consisting of approval of the minutes of the April 20, 2020 regular meeting, the May 5, 2020 special meeting, the bills for approval and the April financial reports. Motion carried 5-0.

Reports

The NHS year in review was presented. Reports were given by JH/HS Principal Chris Parkhurst, Elementary Principal Aimee Wedeking, Curriculum Director Amy Lantigua and Activities Director Eric Gabe. The board was recognized by the administration for all they do.

Approval of FY20 Auditor Engagement

Whittaker moved and Schlutz seconded a motion to approve auditing services from Kay Chapman, CPA for FY20 at a rate not to exceed \$8000 and additional work requested beyond the scope of the audit to be billed at an hourly rate of \$150. Motion carried 5-0.

Approval of Adult Meal Price Increase for 2020-21 School Year

Hoben moved and Schlutz seconded a motion to approve the adult meal price increase from \$3.75 to \$3.85 as recommended. Motion carried 5-0.

Approval of Cooperative Sharing Agreements with Iowa Wesleyan University

Thompson moved and Whittaker seconded a motion to approve the 28E sharing agreement for student teaching with lowa Wesleyan University as presented. Motion carried 5-0.

Board Resolution to Transfer Funds for Athletic Equipment.

Director Schlutz introduced and caused to be read the Resolution hereinafter set out and moved its adoption; seconded by Director Thompson after due consideration thereof by the Board, the President put the question upon the adoption of said Resolution and, the roll having been called, the following Directors voted:

| Aye: | Wilson, Schlutz, Thompson, Whittaker and Hoben |
|------|--|
| Nay: | None |

Whereupon the President declared said Resolution duly adopted as follows:

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Iowa Code provides school districts greater flexibility to transfer excess funds to other specified purposes;

WHEREAS, the Board, in consultation with its community, has determined that funds of \$6,300.00 in the general fund shall be transferred to the student activity fund to purchase protective and safety equipment required for

any extracurricular interscholastic athletic contest or competition that is sponsored or administered by an organization as currently defined by Iowa Code.

NOW, THEREFORE, be it resolved by the Board: Passed and approved this 18th day of May, 2020.

Board President, Scott Wilson

Attest: Board Secretary, Charles Domer

Approval of 28E Agreement ~ Transportation

Schlutz moved and Hoben seconded a motion to approve the 28E sharing agreement for the Transportation Director with Columbus CSD. Motion carried 5-0.

Approval of Early Retirement Plan

Thompson moved and Whittaker seconded a motion to approve the Early Retirement Plan with a benefit plan equal to seventy-five percent of the employee's base salary for the 2020-2021 school year through a HRA or 403(b) SPP benefit pay plans starting on July 1st, 2021 as presented. Motion carried 5-0.

Approval of Graduation Request

Thompson moved and Whittaker seconded a motion to approve the Class of 2020, pending successful completion of the requirements for graduation.

Allison, Dylan Oren Morse, Whittney Marie
Barajas, Alexis Neiswonger, Robert Jeremy
Barrick, Keaton Stanley Ostergren, Rachel Hannah
Beaham, Dustin Lee Randall, Addison Grace
Bishop, Shadyn Kae Rickey, Hunter Drake
Bodman, Lauren Kimberly Robledo, Clarinda Nichelle

Brockert, Nia Marie Salmon, Wyatt

Butler, Elizabeth Jo Sanders, Hailey Jordan Carter, Tanner Alex Scheidler, Drew Michael

Connor, Gage Eugene-Douglas Schnedler, Brodie Donald

Dowdy, Taylor Ann Schneider, Kaden Lee Engel, Mark Valentine Schreiner, Madison Lillian Fischer, Gunther Ivan Schwab, Katilynn Jo

Gillaspie, Matthew Christopher Seefeldt, Jayden Anthony Gomez, Alex Jr Spitznogle, Damien James

Hargrave, Taylor Nichole Steele, Kaleb

Hayes, Gabriel James Stephens, Andrew Robert Howell, Maisy Elizabeth Stone, Brandon Dale Jacobs, Wylie Marcel Sulzberger, Zoe

Jeambey, Brock Anthony Sywassink, David Christopher Johnson, Elizabeth Rene Tipps, Alexander James

Kessel, Samuel Anthony Tjaden, Jaden

Kruse, Chase Nathaniel Vasquez, Dallas Arturo
Lange, Austin Jay Wagner, Emily Joyce
Martin, Tomas Richard Walter, Brianna Marie
Martin, William Michael Welsch, Vincent James
Mashek, Max Daniel Werner, Laken Kenly
McCulley, Maxwell Aaron Drake White, Rachel Irene

Wilhelme, Edward

Wingerter, Hailey

Motion carried 5-0.

FY21 Coaching/Sponsor Positions

Thompson moved and Whittaker seconded a motion to approve coaching and sponsor positions for continued employment for FY21 as presented. Motion carried 5-0.

<u>Personnel</u>

Resignations: Schlutz moved and Hoben seconded a motion to approve the resignations of the following: Andrew Genz, Math PLC Leader, Wes Morse, Assistant Bowling Coach, Linda Sneed, Industrial Technology Teacher, Jamie Chaney, Bus Driver. Motion carried 5-0.

Hirings: Hoben and Whittaker seconded to approve the following hiring: Mandy Heither, Elementary Head Cook. Motion carried 5-0.

Volunteers: Whittaker moved and Thompson seconded to approve the following Volunteers: Joe Fourdyce, Football, pending concussion certificate. Motion carried 5-0.

Informational

Supt. Van Sickle updated the board on COVID-19, District Email to Board, 2020-21 School Calendar and SRO and Career Academy Update. Business Manager Domer did a review of the SAVE-PPEL Five Year Plan.

Hoben left at 7:40 p.m.

Closed Session per Iowa Code 21.5(1)(a) for the Purpose of Conducting the Superintendent's Evaluation

At 7:44 p.m. Schlutz moved to enter closed session per lowa Code 21.5(1)(a) for the purpose of conducting the Superintendent's evaluation. The roll was called and the motion passed unanimously. The Board returned to open session at 8:24 p.m.

Approval of Superintendent's Raise

Thompson moved and Whittacker seconded a motion to approve a \$2,000 base increase for the superintendent for the 2020-2021 school year with a \$2,500 one-time bonus for 2019-2020. Motion carries 4-0.

| <u>djournment</u> |
|---|
| chlutz moved and Whittaker seconded to adjourn the meeting at 8:27 p.m. Motion carried 4-0. |
| |
| |
| |
| cott Wilson, President |
| |
| |
| harles Domer Secretary |